Skip to main content

HSLAA Photo Galleries

State Capitol hosts 19th annual Alabama High School Literary Arts Awards ceremony

Some thirty-two student writers representing twelve high schools gathered in the Old Supreme Court Archives Chamber in the State Capitol on March 13, 2013, to receive their honors in the 19th annual Alabama High School Literary Arts Awards and Scholarship Competition. This year, the Alabama Writers’ Forum, sponsor of the competition, presented a total of eighty-four awards to students from around the state.

Prior to the ceremony, state legislators took a break from committee meetings to congratulate their young constituents. Senate Majority Leader J.T. “Jabo” Waggoner (R-District 16, Jefferson, Shelby), Sen. Cam Ward (R-District 14, Bibb, Chilton, Jefferson, Shelby), Sen. Linda Coleman (D-District 20, Jefferson), Sen. Bill Holtzclaw (R-District 2, Limestone & Madison), Sen. Gerald Allen (R-District 21, Hale, Pickens, & Tuscaloosa), Sen. Bryan Taylor (R-District 30, Autauga, Butler, Crenshaw, Elmore, Lowndes, & Pike), Rep. John Knight (D-District 77, Montgomery), Rep. April Weaver (R-District 49, Bibb & Shelby), Rep. Alan Baker (R-District 66, Baldwin & Escambia), and Rep. Paul Beckman (R-District 88, Autauga & Elmore) posed for photographs with students and teachers from their districts. In her absence, Rep. Patricia Todd issued legislative resolutions honoring her young constituents at the Alabama School of Fine Arts.

Below are photographs from the awards ceremony. Click the photo for a broader view. (Photos by Terry Bruno-fotowerks)

  • ASCA
  • AHA
  • SCAC
  • DYS