Skip to main content

Writing Contests


Writing contests offer writers the opportunity to earn recognition in the publishing field. Contest sponsors may submit their guidelines at Submit Your Announcement.

  • Deadline: April 30, 2018
    Contact: Nicole Pyes

    Seeking creative nonfiction essays between 200 - 1000 words on any topic and in any style--from personal essay to lyric essay to hybrid and more! Limit: 300 entries. $12 entry fee; critique option for an additional $13. Deadline: April 30, 2018.

  • Postmark Deadline: April 30, 2018

    The 40th Nimrod Literary Awards: The Katherine Anne Porter Prize for Fiction & The Pablo Neruda Prize for Poetry

    FIRST PLACE: $2,000 and publication
    SECOND PLACE: $1,000 and publication

    Contest Rules
    Contest Begins: January 1, 2018
    Postmark Deadline: April 30, 2018

    Poetry: 3-10 pages of poetry (one long poem or several short poems).

    Fiction: 7,500 words maximum (one short story or a self-contained excerpt from a novel)

    No previously published works or works accepted for publication elsewhere. Author's name must not appear on the manuscript.

    Postal mail: Include a cover sheet containing major title and subtitles, author's name, full address, phone, & email. Manuscripts should be stapled, if possible; if not, please bind with a heavy clip. “Contest Entry" should be clearly indicated on both the outer envelope and the cover sheet. Include SASE for results only. If no SASE is sent, no contest results will be sent; however, the results will be posted on Nimrod’s website. Manuscripts will not be returned.

    Online submissions:

    Postal Submissions: Nimrod Journal, Literary Contest, The University of Tulsa, 800 S. Tucker Dr., Tulsa, OK 74104.

    Submitters must be living in the US by October of 2018 to enter the contest.

    Winners will also be brought to Tulsa for the Awards Ceremony in October. All finalists will be considered for publication.

    Entry/Subscription Fee: Each entry must each be accompanied by a $20 fee. Make checks payable to Nimrod. $20 includes both entry fee & a one-year subscription (two issues).

  • Deadline: May 31, 2018
    Contact: Nicole Pyes

    WOW Women on Writing invites entries to its Spring 2018 Flash Fiction Contest. The honorable guest judge this season is Literary Agent Sharon Pelletier with Dystel, Goderich & Bourret Literary Agency (DG&B). Seeking short fiction of any genre between 250 - 750 words. $10 entry fee; critique option for additional $10.

  • DYS