Skip to main content


This year, 2016, marks the 100th year of the Pulitzer Prize. For the first thirty-one years only novels were eligible for the fiction prize. Then the category was expanded to include short story collections. The fiction prize has gone to an Alabamian three times. Most famously, the 1961 Pulitzer was awarded to Harper Lee. The other two winners are T.S. Stribling for The Store in 1935 and Shirley Ann Grau for The Keepers of the House in 1965. In keeping with the Pulitzer centennial, I thought it would be interesting to have a look at one of the Alabama winners. (Not Mockingbird; enough has been said there.) READ MORE…

By Gregg Swem

Wade Hall, who established the Hall-Waters Award for Southern writers, had many literary interests—from Southern fiction to American history to poetry. He had been involved in poetry ever since he met a group of Kentucky poets in the 1960s when he was a young college professor. These people were committed to poetry, and through the leadership of Joy Bale Boone they began putting out a publication of poems by Kentuckians. It was titled approaches. Read More

By Edward Reynolds

I would rather walk with a friend in the dark, than alone in the light.
—Helen Keller


On the evening of July 8, 2015, a dozen literary notables with ties to Alabama received long overdue official recognition when the first class of the Alabama Writers Hall of Fame was inducted. Major sponsors of the Hall of Fame include the Alabama Center for the Book, the University of Alabama Library Leadership Board, and the Alabama Writers’ Forum, a partnership program of the Alabama State Council on the Arts. The Gala was held in the Bryant Conference Center at the University of Alabama, with close to 300 in attendance. Read More

  • ASCA
  • AHA
  • SCAC
  • DYS