Skip to main content

Hall of Fame

In the spring of 2014, representatives of the Alabama Center for the Book and the Alabama Writers’ Forum with a committee of readers, writers, and scholars met to decide how best to honor the rich legacy of native Alabamians who earned their reputations in the literary arts. From these initial meetings, came the Alabama Writers Hall of Fame. Like the Alabama Music Hall of Fame, the Alabama Sports Hall of Fame, and the Alabama Women’s Hall of Fame, the Alabama Writers Hall of Fame recognizes those professionals who have proved outstanding in their field.

The inaugural class of twelve writers represents internationally celebrated Alabama authors whose work spans the nineteent,twentieth, and twenty-first centuries. These initial inductees include Johnson Jones Hooper (1815-1862), Augusta Jane Evans Wilson (1835-1909), Helen Keller (1880-1968), Zora Neale Hurston (1891-1960), William March (1894-1954), Albert Murray (1916-2013), Helen Norris Bell (1916-2013), Andrew Glaze (b. 1920), Harper Lee (b. 1926), Sonia Sanchez (b. 1934), Sena Jeter Naslund (b. 1942), and Rick Bragg (b. 1959).

For further information about the Alabama Writers Hall of Fame, contact the Alabama Writers’ Forum at 334-265-7728 or

  • ASCA
  • AHA
  • SCAC
  • DYS